top of page

London Transport Sports Association were given permission by the War Department in 1946 to establish a flying club on the airfield, for peppercorn rent. Thus, being the first operator on the airfield apart from the RAF.  Fairoaks was at that time a Royal Air Force establishment and remained so until the early 1950’s.

We were given this privilege because of our duty during 1914-18 (General Omnibus) and 1939-45 (London Passenger Transport Board) World Wars.  Under that privilege, we were given the use of the clubhouse (built 1938 as a dispersal mess hut) and the blister hanger at the south of the present runway.

During the late 60’s/early 70’s, contractors were brought in to demolish two air raid shelters situated on the threshold of the present 06 runway, but seemed to experience a lot of problems completing the task.  With our members expertise, we completed it in a weekend.


Club members maintained the clubhouse and blister hanger. The curtains on the blister hanger were regularly waxed and repaired incurring no cost to the airfield. Similarly, the club maintains the clubhouse and roadway to this day with no cost to the airfield.

The club has, in the past, voluntarily assisted the airfield when needed, in the tower, refuelling and ground crew duties. Ted Baker was a strong advocate of this gesture. Up until they departed, our aircraft were always maintained by operators on the airfield, thus supporting these neighbouring businesses.

Several films were made on the airfield, “Reunion at Fairborough”, several BBC drama series and a BBC News item, all depicting the fantastic airfield of Fairoaks.

Club History

bottom of page